A University of the Air

I've blipped this building before, this time last year, when I said I hoped to be here again in 2018. And here I am. This is the Jennie Lee building at the Open University's campus in Milton Keynes. It is a beautiful jewel of a building and one of the nicest the most attractive on the campus. It was Lee's tenacity which brought the OU into being. To quote her, "a great independent university which does not insult any man or any women whatever their background by offering them the second best, nothing but the best is good enough.'

I'm here for the annual conference of the research group of which I was, and still loosely am, a member. I'm really looking forward to tomorrow and seeing friends  but I do find it slightly odd to be back here. It's so familiar yet I'm no longer part of it.

As you can see from the burnt grass it has been very hot here. It still is but I think tomorrow is to be cooler.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.