GRATITUDE

Had to go out this morning to post a letter before noon.  I also did some food shopping before I came home.  Before I went to Fitness Class I decided to get the washing up out of the way.  It was going well until I noticed blood in the water.  Lots of blood.  Looked for a wound on my hands - found the tiniest cut on the knuckle of my right hand.  I'm not kidding - it was tiny.  But it was gushing blood.  I got a piece of kitchen roll and dabbed it for a bit expecting the blood to dry up.  It didn't.  Put a padded plaster on which got soaked through in seconds.  Replaced it with a fresh one - same thing happened.  Another two plasters - same thing.  By now it was time to got to my Fitness Class so I put a fresh plaster on and put some micropore tape over the top and set off.

As I walked I could see the blood was soaking through again and seeping in between my fingers.  When I got to class Emma the instructor noticed my hand straight away and said it wasn't a good idea to do the class as exercise would make the blood pump more. She said I should go to the Health Centre but I wasn't keen- after all I knew the cut was tiny. But there was a lot of blood.  So reluctantly I toddled off to the Health Centre.

The place was packed and there was a long queue at reception. i almost left but decided to stick it out - I expected a long wait. The receptionist said to wait outside the treatment room - and I was seen by a nurse within 5 mins.  The nurse washed my hand and looked at the " wound " - of course she was surprised at how tiny it was considering the amount of blood. Unsurprisingly she said it didn't need anything doing to it apart from putting another dressing on.  She considered a tetunus jab but decided against that as the wound was clean ( well I was doing the washing up at the time ). By this time the blood flow was beginning to stop and the new pad hardly has any blood on it as you can see in my blip shot. I have put a photo in my Extras of my hand taken just before I saw the nurse so you can see what a mess it was.  So my blip is to illustrate one of the Mono Monday themes - Gratitude.  My gratitude for the NHS seeing me at such short notice - even though I felt a bit of a fraud with such a tiny wound. Thanks to si_b for hosting

( I have also put a photo of what I think is the " culprit " in my extras.  I was washing the inside of this metal container which has holes in the sides and I think my knuckle must have caught on one of the edges of the holes. )

So when I got home from the Health centre I had a bit of time on my hands due to not going to Fitness Class - so I did a bit of light gardening.

Then it was time to go to Slimming Club.  It was taster night tonight and we crowned our Diamond Member of the Year - who was ME.  ( A diamond member is a member who has reached their personal achievement target weight and maintained that weight for more than 12 months) I was presented with a certificate, a mug - and was given a sash to wear.  I was very pleased and proud to be chosen.  ( I lost one pound this week by the way ).


Steps today - 15,313

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.