Music At the Jansen

The photo is of a string sextet made up of members of the Bellingham Festival orchestra who gave a free chamber music concert at the Jansen Art Center in Lynden at noon today. Shelly and I attended and sat in the front row right in the middle. The music washed over us and we felt like we were the music itself. We both were high on Bach and Tchaikovsky by the end of the concert.

We walked awhile in Lynden and the had lunch at Jo Fish. We sat outside and enjoyed the cool day while we ate. Then we drove to Ediline Dairy for ice cream. We were both well full after each having one scoop the size of Boston.

From there we drove to Ferndale to visit Arvin’s grave. It felt like I was introducing the two men. Shelly told Arvin that he would take good care of me. I was so touched by this encounter.

While were at the Jansen we found out Greta Matassa was going to give a concert there that evening. My good friend Jyl studied jazz singing with Greta and I knew she was a fantastic singer. So we bought tickets and planned to return in the evening.

We were tired after we visited Arv’s grave so we went to my place and had a long nap. We got back to the Jansen in plenty of time to get to the concert. Greta did not disappoint and the band was great too. What a great day we had. At the end of the day a lady asked us how long we had been married. We aren’t I said. We’ve known each other for six months. It does feel like a forever thing for sure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.