Insects, Miss Willmott’s Ghost and an Allium

I’ve got one Miss Willmott’s ghost in flower at the moment which is mainly attracting Buff-tailed Bumblebees, but as I stopped to take photos I noticed this wasp like insect (not the usual garden wasp) so I thought I’d feature it today.  We also had a visit from a very small and solitary Meadow Brown butterfly which had taken a fancy to the alliums, so I created a diptych as I’m beginning to run out of extras.

We took the display screens back to the camera club rooms this lunchtime before meeting my brother at Cannon Hall and then returned home via Penistone and the Argo animal food store to collect some more poultry food for the pheasant (it’s cheaper than wild bird food).  He has this habit of arriving in the garden and shouting until someone goes out to feed him.  he’s lost some of his summer gloss now so I guess he needs feeding up if he’s to survive another year.  I think he’s probably four now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.