Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

sym·bi·o·sis

Symbiosis - interaction between two different organisms living in close physical association; typically to the advantage of both

First, let me say that I am not a huge fan of ants.  They don't appeal to me the way many other insects/arthropods do; in fact, they sometimes creep me out.  That said, this is one of the more fascinating interspecies relationships in the insect world, in my opinion.  In case you are confused, let me explain what you're looking at (besides some ants).

The odd shaped creature on the left side of the frame is a treehopper (Entylia carinata - no common name).  The little spots you see here and there are its babies (nymphs).  You might think that the ants are harming this little treehopper and her kids, but instead they are really "Auntie Ants".  These ants find a female treehopper guarding her cluster of eggs and they start guarding her and the eggs, chasing would-be parasites and predators away.  Once the young emerge, the aunties care for both the adult and all the young, guarding them fiercely.  You might rightly wonder why they'd do such a thing?  Well, the nymphs secrete "honeydew" (nymph poop) which the ants dearly love.  So, the ants guard the nymphs who in turn provide the ants with sustenance.  

I discovered the nursery yesterday on one of the sunflowers which seems to be a favorite egg-laying spot for this species of treehopper.  Last year, I found several nurseries and I was hoping to find at least one this year.  The aunties heard the nymphs into smaller groups as they get bigger, each auntie protecting their little group - rather like kindergarten teachers I suppose.  As they munch through a leaf on the sunflower, the aunties will move them to a new location.  The aunties can be seen stroking the treehoppers, which encourages them to secrete their honeydew.

Meanwhile the mother treehopper will continue to stay with her young, until she eventually dies.

Seriously, isn't that cool? (Not the mother treehopper dying - the other stuff!)  I'm popping a shot from yesterday in Extra which shows more of the leaf; as you can see, there are quite a lot of nymphs.

Assuming that the Auntie Ants do their job and protect the kids, I'll track their progress as they go through their five moults, eventually becoming adults.  Stay tuned...

Tomorrow I'm heading out with my nature group to a field that is supposed to be especially good for odes and butterflies.  That by way of saying that you should expect a dragon or a butterfly tomorrow.  

Thanks for stopping by.  Hope the ants didn't gross you out too much!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.