Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

That's twice this week...

That I've had the wrong lens for the task at hand!  This photo of an Eastern Garter snake was taken with my 105 mm macro lens which is most certainly not the optimum lens for snake photography!  It was, however, the lens I had and, therefore, became the best lens for the job at that moment.  

When we discovered this little snake, we'd all been out looked for odes and butterflies in some big fields just off the Appalachian Trail.  The day was great even if we didn't see as many of our target species as we'd have liked.  The company was good, the humidity was low and the temperatures stayed below 80.  Most of the other people in the group either don't do photography, or had zoom lenses so, depending on which camp, they either got the shots from 4-5 feet away, or just enjoyed the sight.  Me, another story.  I had to slowly creep closer and closer, all the time watching to make sure I wasn't stressing the snake.  Eventually I was about 3-4 feet from him, leaning very far forward which put my lens about 18 inches away.  Consequently, this photo got only the tiniest crop.

These little snakes are harmless to humans and are considered to be beneficial in gardens as they eat a host of gastropods and insects - also frogs, unfortunately.  A few feet from where this little guy was warming himself, was a bit of cast-off skin, which I'll put in Extra.  Everyone in our group agreed that his new wardrobe looks very sharp and fashion-forward.

So, a good day.  Many thanks for all the love on yesterday's little planthopper nursery - not everyone's cup of tea, I know, so I appreciate those who found it interesting.

Now, off to shower!
xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.