Where are the Butterflies?

I have noticed of late that I am not seeing many butterflies in the places I usually see them.  At first, I thought it was too early in the season but when I look back at previous year's blips, I see that there were plenty of them around.  I usually see lots of Skippers and Swallowtails this time of year. Butterflies have been particularly absent from my backyard, too. 

Today while I was at the Botanical Gardens, one of the gardeners commented that there were so few butterflies and they were trying to figure out why.  There was some speculation about the unseasonably warm weather during the winter followed by bitter cold being the reason.  I couldn't find any Skippers anywhere and this place is usually crawling with them.  

I have seen a lot more Hummingbird Moths this year everywhere I go, however.  I don't know if there are actually more of them, or I am just better at spotting them.  I followed a few around today trying to capture them and this was the best of the lot.  It seemed suitable for Tiny Tuesday, hosted by NickiMags888.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.