Still creating

It was late when I went down the alleyway beside the Grey Lynn Butchery, into the open space behind the block of shops. Mainly the space is for delivery vehicles, some parking, loads of rubbish containers. But, there is one little shack there. And over the door is the sign Metal as Anything.

A few years ago, when on an early morning run, I took a photo of the window display in a Grey Lynn shop. Many small, and often intricate,  metal sculptures made of metal. I discovered that the artist used scrap metal as his source material wherever possible. He was about to be moved out of the shop, which he occupied briefly because the owner had had no other tenant. I knew that he had moved to this shack, and then forgotten again as I very rarely go down the alleyway.

This evening, having forgotten that I did take a photo of the sunrise behind the bike shed this morning, I went looking for a photo, was reminded by his sign and hope that he is still filling the lives of some people with enthusiasm and interest by his at times slightly unusual works.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.