Abstract Thursday : : Wires and Clouds

I don't know how I achieved this effect other than intensifying the colors, but I liked the movement in it. I have become much more aware of the enormous number of telephones with huge transformers on top and many wires between them. I get so used to seeing them that I don't always notice them until there they are...right smack in the middle of my shot. I think they belong underground, not for aesthetic reasons, although I certainly wouldn't deny that benefit, but for safety reasons.

 PG&E (Pacific Gas &Electric) has been found liable for starting the most damaging of the fires in Sonoma County. The reason given is that the lines were not properly maintained, but I don't think any amount of maintenance would have prevented those fires under the prevailing conditions of drought, tinder dry vegetation, low humidity and high winds. They would only have been protected from all those conditions if they had been underground.  The cost of putting out the Tubbs fire alone has been estimated at 1.2 billion dollars. I don't think anybody knows what the final costs of rebuilding will be yet. 

I wouldn't surprise me to learn that all new construction will have to have underground power lines....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.