Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A good hike and a blipmeet

It was another wonderful sunny day today, and despite my very sore legs we decided to do another hike. Poor Murdoch has a very upset tummy last night, I suspect he ate something dodgy on a walk that we did not notice. However, despite not feeling strong he was not going to be left behind, and so we set off and were joined by some friends. 

The hike was glorious - I cannot remember seeing so many wild flowers here before, I suspect the long winter and late spring has allowed many flowers to bloom late - the hills were full of buttercups, gentians, daisies, cowslips and many other species I cannot identify. I kept stopping to take photos! It truly is a photographers' paradise at this time of year. The only blight in the day was when we came across a large herd of cows. We have been walking here for 12 years now and I have never had a problem with cows before, but this year they seem particularly aggressive. There was a very scary moment when a small group of cows saw Gavin and Murdoch and came running after them from quite a distance away - I stood there just shouting run, run to Gavin and run he did! Then the buggers turned on me and I also ran - my heart was going and adrenalin was pumping through me, cows can be so scary! We managed to run down the mountain side beyond their reach but it was a heart stopping moment!

The hike was much longer than we anticipated, and poor Murdoch was taking strain as he had not eaten earlier due to his upset tummy and I think he was feeling weak. We kept stopping for him to rest in the shade - he is nearly 12 years old now and quite different from the young dog he once was when he would run up and down the mountain side chasing after marmots!

When we finally got back to the apartment, Thomas was waiting for us and he and Gavin went off to play 9 holes of golf. (They also played yesterday and he won £10 off his dad and was keen to repeat that!) And then I had a most delightful afternoon, I had a blipmeet with Reike and Djeili. We met at the apartment and then walked into the village, where we had coffee. By now Murdoch had perked up and I think he really enjoyed Djeili’s company. We went to a favourite coffee place and then walked back home again - thank you Mareike for coming up to see us! Please see my extra photos of our meeting - there are many extras today but it was just that kind of day!I think blip dogs will like the one of Murdoch and Djeili.

In other news, Adam took a day off work today and competed in the World University Powerlifting Championships in Pilsen, Czechia and was very pleased to achieve his pre-injury lifts. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.