Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

The Smell Of Rain

It may seem like I'm obsessed with the weather lately. During the monsoon, I kinda am.  I saw a beautiful sky earlier so I took a short walk into the desert near my house and snapped a few pictures of enormous fluffy clouds. That was mid-afternoon when it was 102°/39°.  The thunderstorm photos were taken at 4:45 from my garage about five minutes after it started. You can see how flash floods can happen here quite suddenly because it comes down so furiously.

Now an hour later, the storm has passed (more tonight)  and the temperature has dropped to 74°/23°.  I've opened the windows and doors to enjoy the cooling breeze and the wonderful smell of creosote. It's what makes desert rain so amazing.  Wish you were here!

To give you a sense of how close I live to the desert, in the lower left photo let your eyes follow the rows of rocks across the street to the back wall. The desert is on the other side of that wall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.