Yeldall Manor Open Day

Every Year in early July, Yeldall Manor has its Open Day. Yeldall Manor is a drug and alcohol residential rehab centre in Berkshire, not far from where I live. It’s a place very dear to my heart as it was started by my parents over 40 years ago and I still play a very small role as a Trustee.

Open Day is a day for supporters and others interested in the work to come and take a look at this Christian ministry and to hear reports and testimonies from some of the residents. There is a delicious hog roast to enjoy, ice cream, plant and cake sales and plenty of children’s activities. Later in the afternoon a strawberry cream tea is served and of course the beautiful grounds to be enjoyed throughout the afternoon.

Today’s Open Day was different from most in that it was EXCEEDINGLY hot!! It didn’t seem to keep people away, though, but I helped at the ice-cream tent for awhile and we were very busy! I was tempted to crawl INTO the freezer at one point!

Open Day also had a different twist to it as today was the day of the big football World Cup match between England and Sweden. Adjustments were made to the timings of the day and at kickoff time football fans gathered in the marque where the match was shown on a couple of big screens. I was busy elsewhere (staying close to that ice cream freezer) but I could tell from the cheers I was hearing that England was doing well!

Yeldall Open Day is always a great day out and the staff and residents work very hard to make it an enjoyable event. This year was more challenging with the heat and with accommodating the football - I hope they all got some good rest over the rest of the weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.