NellieD

By NellieD

As well as my crochet/knit group, I also run a book club. Since I had a free Saturday I was very tempted to kick back and do nothing but decided to host a coffee morning instead. I have all afternoon for housework!

In the days where so many people are now connected electronically, face-to-face interaction is more important than ever. We text instead of telephoning people, add a post to someone's Facebook page instead of calling round with a birthday card. You really can't measure the value of being with other people. Find your tribe, find those that you connect with ... organising my two groups is one of the most best things I've done!

We had coffee in the beautiful Royal Exchange cafe and after my jaw ached from talking and laughing, I popped into the even more beautiful John Rylands Library where I saw the sun streaming in through the window.

My extra blip is Audrey from the Little Shop of Horrors which is displayed at the entrance to the Royal Exchange. Every time I see it I want to shout 'feed me'!

Quote for today:
People are like stained-glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when the darkness sets in, their true beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within.
- Elisabeth Kubler-Ross

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.