Dolcezza Della Vita

By Dolcezza

Dakota

I typically dont do pictures of pictures, but this is an exception. Today was a little rough. My friend Alicia called me quite a few times. I didnt have time to answer, I was in meetings all morning. She called back later this afternoon and wow. Her dog Dakota had passed away. She couldnt even get the words out without breaking down. Then I started crying. It was a mess.

I could barely understand her - all I could say is I'm sorry. Dakota was a great dog. Beautiful coat...eyes blue as the sky. He loved the snow - I mean he would go out there from morning to night and just sleep in it. He would be covered with snow and he was perfectly happy. Alicia would even have to put his food outside because he wouldnt come in to eat.

A few months ago he started having back problems - he would have good and bad days, the vet put him on pain medicine. They didnt see anything wrong. Just old age. He was 10. Things got bad this week and Alicia was going to take Dakota to the vet in the morning. He stopped eating/drinking - but was licking the snow. That night she prayed that if there was anything seriously wrong with him - that he would go during the night. Her husband woke her up in the morning and she could tell by the look on his face. Dakota passed away in his bed during the night.

It took her a half hour to get that out. I really can't even begin to understand the pain her and her family must be feeling. He was such a big part of their family. Dakota was her walking partner, her husbands football buddy - they would watch football all day long together, and her daughters best friend. So they are all taking this hard. And I've gotten to know him the last 5 or so years. Will miss him. It got me thinking about my lab Jaxx - hes getting old and yeah, I can't even go there. It's going to hurt like hell, I know it.

I really had no words of comfort for my friend. All I could say is I was sorry for her loss. But Dakota is in a better place...and will forever be in their memories. Dogs are in our lives for such a short time...but the love they give us...it's enough to last a life time!!

Long day. Just a simple poem...

The Last Battle

If it should be that I grow frail and weak
And pain should keep me from my sleep,
Then will you do what must be done,
For this -- the last battle -- can't be won.

You will be sad I understand,
But don't let grief then stay your hand,
For on this day, more than the rest,
Your love and friendship must stand the test.

We have had so many happy years,
You wouldn't want me to suffer so.
When the time comes, please, let me go.

Take me to where to my needs they'll tend,
Only, stay with me till the end
And hold me firm and speak to me
Until my eyes no longer see.

I know in time you will agree
It is a kindness you do to me.
Although my tail its last has waved,
From pain and suffering I have been saved.

Don't grieve that it must be you
Who has to decide this thing to do;
We've been so close -- we two -- these years,
Don't let your heart hold any tears.

-- Unknown

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.