Hidden Heart

I wondered where Miss E's necklace had got to!! Broken and hanging in a rose bush outside!
Today was a Miss E day for me. I thought it would be nice for us to have a day out together and see if helps bring her back from the dark side where she seems to have disappeared to.
We had our first ever trip to the cinema. Well half a trip as we had to leave when Miss E got scared! We went to see The Pirates! In an Adventure with Scientists which is an Aardman animation and it was a bit too much for her. First of all she huddled up to my shoulder, then she got on my knee, then - when the action was in a dark, spooky decrepit old Victorian house - she said in tiny little voice that she was scared and wanted to go.
Shame because I was quite enjoying it!!
Then I said she could choose whatever she wanted to do. So it was lunch at McDonalds, followed by a walk to the Disney Store, tea and cake in John Lewis. Then home to assemble the play farm that hasn't been played with for months. The poor farmer ended up getting eaten by a dinosaur!!
I wish I could say that we had a magical day full of fun and laughter and bonding but she seems determined to keep her distance at the moment. I can't imagine what I'd have to do to get to her to really let go and enjoy herself. Sigh.
Mr K took Miss L to a school birthday party which they enjoyed. I feel a bit churlish because I think it's a bit ridiculous having parties for three year olds. Miss L won't be getting one in February!!!
Tonight we're going out for dinner with the Lovely Mrs K who's leaving us soon for Australia. I met her at Baby Cafe when Miss E was 2 weeks old. She very quickly stopped being a "baby friend" and just became a friend. A very special person who I will miss more than I probably realise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.