Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Piwakawaka, the messenger

I love fantails, they're one of my favourite native birds. There's much to like about them; they're one of the few birds that make you smile when you see them (I'm putting that down to those big cute eyes) and as far as I can tell, they are the only bird that looks like it is drunk when it is flying. Having said that, I've seen Kereru so stuffed with young unripe plums that they also appear drunk. And yes, they were plums from my orchard. Grrr.

I digress. Fantails are known to Maori as Piwakawaka and in their mythology considered a messenger bringing death, or news of death, from the gods to the people. It's hard to believe it from one so cute, I know. Their big bulging eyes are said to be thanks to Maui squeezing Piwakawaka for not disclosing the whereabouts of the fire god Mahuika.

Whatever their ancient history, it's nice that the Fantails are nesting. This adult was captured after leaving its four fledgling chicks (which are super cute) whilst it went hunting insects on the wing. I would love to have shared a shot of the babies on their branch amongst the kanuka, but lens and light limitations sadly came into play. I'm happy to accept donations towards a 400mm f2.8 lens though if you'd like to see them... :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.