REMEMBRANCE DAY

A Poem for Remembrance Day

Why are they selling poppies, Mummy?

Selling poppies in town today.

The poppies child, are flowers of love, for men who marched away.

But, why have they chosen a poppy Mummy?

Why not a beautiful rose?

Because, my child men fought and died, in the fields where the poppies grow.

But why are the poppies so red?

Red is the colour of blood, my child, the blood our soldiers shed.

The heart of the poppy is black Mummy?

Why does it have to be black?

Black, my child is the symbol of grief, for the men who never came back.

But why Mummy are you crying so?

Your tears are giving you pain.

My tears are my fears for you my child, for the world is forgetting again.

Author unknown.

Fortunately I do not know of anyone in my family who was killed whilst serving their country but on this day especially I remember all those who were killed and I am grateful for their sacrifice.

An early blip today as I am off to the football. Newcastle are at home to West Ham. Before kick off there will be a wreath laying ceremony and a minutes silence.

We will remember them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.