Spitting Image

I’m not really sure where the ‘spitting image’ idiom comes from. Maybe someone can enlighten me. THIS spitting image is of course something entirely different!!

This is Crown Fountain in Millennium Park in Chicago. It’s an ‘interactive work of public art and video sculpture’.

This, and a matching pillar/fountain facing it display moving pictures of a person’s face, underneath the flowing water. The faces are those of local Chicago residents. Every few minutes they close their eyes and spit out a stream of water, much to the delight of all the children who are already playing and getting wet in the very shallow pool. I was tempted to join them as it was already scorching hot mid-morning in Chicago. I hadn’t intended to spend much time outside, but I went to get something for breakfast and I was able to eat it in the shade - just! Then I wandered around for a bit - there’s lots to see and enjoy in Millennium Park, including a fabulous outdoor auditorium where they often have free concerts. Today they were showing a children’s film and even better - a grocery delivery service was giving out FREE ice-cream! Dessert after my breakfast! Yes please!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.