Mother and Child Reunion

A nod to Paul Simon's farewell tour. Shame I've missed it, he's an artist I've always liked.

A quick trip to my hometown to see my parents. I've been busy since arriving.

The blip is "Joyride" in the town centre, which I have always had a soft spot for. It has become the town's symbol. It was unveiled in 1958, and is the work of Franta Belsky. He arrived in the UK in 1938, fleeing nazi persecution and the occupation of his Czech homeland. Apparently in each of his works he put an empty Guinness bottle, the day's newspaper, a sixpence, and a note with his name on it.

Took my Mum on a bit of a joyride late afternoon (my Dad does not want to go out these days). She was overjoyed to see trees and fields of corn. On the way back we stopped at the row of houses I grew up in, and knocked on the door of neighbours I had not seen for many years. Cups of tea and a good chat ended a very pleasant trip down memory lane.

Oh - and in terms of the Mono Monday challenge, I think this fits neatly under that of "Love"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.