Plus ça change...

By SooB

Just desserts

The day started, of course, far too early.  And I couldn't ignore it since, despite it being really a day off, I had promised to do just a couple of things.  On the first call I could mostly just sit it out on mute while other folk did the talking, but the second not only required brain action and lots of talking (at the same time - sheesh) but also happened far too close to the time we (me and host) had to leave the house to get to her birthday lunch.

We made it, and very splendid it was too.  A bunch of ladies plus a token Y chromosome to prove just how liberal we are (or more likely just because we don't see him very often - though I saw him just last week as it happens).  Very much fun was had and some exceedingly fine food.  Especially all the things with peas in them.  And my pudding.  And the salted caramel espresso martinis.  Ooh.

All that, of course, made me later than I ought to have been for my flight and the drinks, instead of relaxing me, made me super-tense and with no real sense of time.  So, with lots of panicking, sweaty running and pushing to the front of queues because "I'm going to miss my plane", I ended up at Luton with about 45 minutes to spare before the scheduled departure time, which was actually already running very late.   Was gently mocked by Mr B (who beat me to the lounge despite his 'just-in-time' approach to airports).

Late home, but the kids were still up regardless.  Nice to arrive back and suddenly it's the weekend.  I may schedule more work trips away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.