Goodbye

I got a phone call tonight from my dad. It was the sort of phone call that is never easy to receive nor to make.

I was going to waffle on about my day. About teaching. About how I felt it had gone pretty well.

Now I know that my Gran passed away at three o'clock this morning (UK time) and none of that really seems to matter any more.

My prayers and love go to Ma, Jeff, Lyn, Phil and Bren and of course, to my grandad who will feel the loss the most.

I used to think that my grandparents were selfish until I realised that their love for each other was so strong that they just needed each other. No one else.

In recent years, they have mellowed and I feel that Gran has gone at a time when our relationship was good and strong. She knew that I loved her.

Gran was a poet and she was most likely my inspiration as a young 'un to get into writing poetry and later songs. I just wanted to put one of her poems here.

PEACE OF MIND

Time is a healer of all pain,
And silver linings follow the rain,
As we look ahead, we will surely find
Contentment and a Peace of Mind


I hope so, Gran.

I love you and you will be missed.

Rest in peace.

XXX

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.