Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

Doha, Qatar

Thanks for guessing my destination on yesterday's blip, but no-one guessed correctly.  I stepped out of the airport at 2.30am into 35 degrees and when I took this pic from the hotel bedroom this bedroom at 10.00am it was 45.  When I went into the centre at 4pm it was said to be 48!   First impressions:  furnace-like heat, glitzy hotel, sparkling clean airport, handsome Qatar men in sparkling white robes, white sand, lack of beeping car horns, lots of Indian men clutching their passports and papers in the passport queue at the airport, a lot of the hotel staff seem to be Indian, waiting staff at breakfast are from the Philippines, you need the aircon on and you can't open windows.   

I worked from the hotel until mid afternoon, met one of the tutors here and then went into the centre for teaching practice and to do some admin.  I think I managed to get done what I had to do in the scheduled time.  Dinner at an amazing Indian restaurant tonight with the tutors.  Tomorrow I have some more work to do in the centre, free time for sightseeing in the afternoon, dinner at night and then just a few hours before I head back to the airport again! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.