HEY! I felt THAT!!

Poor wee beastie must have had false-teeth. 
I was doing a little violet weeding to clear around what I think/hope might be a self-seeded hepatica. I was leaning on my right hand and  pulling with my left when I spotted a small "Antery" hard by.
Right hand shook off one ant and moved a bit to the right. 
Left hand continued to weed. 
I was never long in contact with either soil or plants; however a couple of opportunists must have leapt aboard. I felt the scuttling and a VERY slight nip. I had time to aim, shoot and blow them off my wrist and still not get the dreaded formic acid squirt.  I took this shot before its mate pulled up alongside. The reason for only one?:-
1. I took this; then, before I got camera put "away", its mate hove up alongside.
2. This was the clearer of the two shots.
 I wonder if it was having a struggle through the undergrowth &/or getting through the ancient leather on my wrist.
Both of which trumped a, possibly repeatable, shot of a honey Bee on my Romneya coulteri.

;¬)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.