Crossing a Line

You have to suffer a lot of indignities as you get older. One treat that drops through your letterbox is a package innocently branded ‘NHS’ and once you’ve opened it you’re encouraged to do things that you would have tried to stop your children from doing when they were quite young. I’m sorry but I’m going to get a bit graphic now. Who would have guessed when you were younger that you’d be encouraged to scrape excrement onto a piece of card and post it to someone by the Royal Mail? I’m very thankful to have so far escaped any of the Big C kind of illnesses. As one of my mother in laws used to say, “he’s got everything that doesn’t kill you.”  This comes to you as part of bowel cancer screening and we can all be very grateful for it once those three days of indignity have passed and you can get about it for for another two years.


It’s been a bit of a dull overcast day but it was supposed to brighten a little as it got into the evening. I suppose it did a bit but it wasn’t dramatic. I considered going to the railway line not as an act of desperation on this occasion but because the theme for Wideangle Wednesday (hosted by BobsBlips) is ‘Lines’. As I drove up the lanes on an indirect route, I noticed some lovely lines in a distant field where a crop of barley was being harvested. The first stage is to harvest the grain and leave the straw in wide lines to be picked up and baled in a later process. They looked quite distinct in the distance and you can see that in my extra but I wanted to see them closer.


I parked on the corner and walked up the lane to the field. The tractors were in the far side so I was quite happy to walk into the field and take the shot that is my main blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.