St Mary's

I had a review appointment at the Eye Clinic this afternoon so I decided to stop at St Mary's church in Kingskerswell on the way. I used to pass by quite often because it was on the back road into Torquay and it would be a good route when the main road, which was always busy and was a nose to tail crawl in the summer. Since then we have a new dual carriageway which means getting to Torquay or the other towns in the bay is a much quicker journey and I can get from home to the hospital is about 15 minutes now.

Anyway, I digress, I've never stopped here before and it's a grade II listed building parts of which date from the 14th century. It has what seems to me to be a rather unusual tower. "It's an unbuttressed 2-stage tower with a restored west doorway and a 3-light Perpendicular window in Bath stone. On the north side is demi-octagonal stair turret with a pointed arched doorway" it says here.  

I also found that in the churchyard as well as a lot of quite old graves there are some ruins which I've found out are the ruins of Kingskerswell Manor House which is first mentioned in records of 1387. It's all fairly ancient but very nicely shaded by large trees. You can see one view from the ruins as an extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.