WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

The accidental

I didn't actually intend to take this photo, my finger slipped. And I put my camera away after this, deciding it was a waste of time trying to take photos in this venue. It was supposed to be the Jardin de Jazz; when I had my morning swim I thought it was going to be a perfect day for it, warm and no breeze. But I got home to find an email informing me that because of the forecast thunderstorm, it was being moved to the Centre Culturel in Ferrals.

It was a good thing they'd managed to find an indoor venue at such short notice, because as the band played we could hear the thunder rumbling and the rain drumming on the roof. It was a bit cramped and pitch dark, hence inability to take photos, but certainly better than being outdoors. The band was the James Pearson Trio, resident band at Ronnie Scott's in London. Quite a coup for this little association to catch them as they passed on the way to another venue.

It was an excellent concert; more classic and less contemporary than we're used to but superbly done. James Pearson gave us a mini roundup of various famous jazz pianists, explained what was special about their style, and then played something representative. Sometimes he mixed things up; I think my favourite piece of the evening was Michel Legrand's Watch What Happens from Les Parapluies de Cherbourg, played in the style of George Shearing. Really excellent drummer and bass player too. Have a listen to them here. I went with G and I, and they both enjoyed it too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.