Is this a green-veined white and small white?

I’ve been for a walk up the hill this morning and had a lovely time.  Sometimes I forget how much I enjoy the pottering kind of walk with a bit of photography thrown in.  It’s the first day of The Big Butterfly Count, so having downloaded the App I had to try it out.  It’s great, except when you get a bit unsure as I was on my final stopping place on the edge of Millmoor Wood.  I couldn’t make my mind up whether I was counting small whites or green-veined whites and they were all pretty active and lively.  I think they were both present as in this blip.  It isn’t my sharpest image but it’s the one that shows the two different types.  Any help appreciated.

Actually the star butterfly of my walk was the Small Copper.  I’ve not seen them around here before and I came across one in at least five different places - admittedly this was while walking in quite a small area.

So what else:  Large whites - in fact there were hundreds of whites on the wing this morning.
Meadow Browns, Small Skippers, a few Ringlets, at least one Red Admiral and a few Peacocks.  I don’t think I saw Small Tortoiseshells until I got back into the garden and there were two commas on the Buddleia this morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.