Headed South

So whilst Annie has spent most of the day flying home from Las Vegas, I’ve been driving down through France. After my overnight stay in Calais, I set off this morning for Dijon. I planned to stop at the Canadian war memorial at Vimy. We’ve been before and blipped it but there is a photo in the extras if you’ve not seen it. Such a beautifully looked after site, the calmness must be such a contrast to what this area saw in WW1.

Back on the road I headed on. I hadn’t planned another stop but as I wasn’t in a hurry I chose to stop at Lac D’Orient near Troyes. An ice cream and a quick explore for a photo (favourite shot is the blip). It’s a nice spot.

Back on the road I took the most direct route sat nav offered to Dijon. That meant no motorway but lots of ambling through the wide open countryside.

The roads are so quiet and 350 miles were gone before I knew it. Tomorrow morning I’ll drive to Lyon where Annie, Immy and Rosie will fly into and we’ll set off for our villa and start the holiday properly!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.