Pinwheels & Pussycat(s)

First off, I have to confess that this is a photo that I took yesterday when I was out in the yard.  MiniMe followed me around to ensure she didn't miss out on anything and then lay on the brick wall and I couldn't resist this photo.

I've contacted my neurologist about getting a cooling vest.  Spent too much time today doing what needs to be done attempting to get an appointment to my Congressman, David Rouzer, during this year's August Recess.  It is going to be tough as the Recess is only going to be one week and it's and election year.  As an MS Activist, there are issues I want to bring to his attention so I will continue to be a nuisance to his office staff. 

My hubby just told me it's 23 weeks until Christmas.  Should I be excited or start to be stressed?!  We are more than halfway there! 

I had read about this plant about a month ago and then today my hubby brought home information on it as he used it as his 'Safety" moment to fellow co-workers this morning.  Here's some information on Giant Hogweed.

It's history is interesting; A member of the carrot and parsley family of plants (Apiaceae), giant hogweed is native to the Caucasus region of Eurasia. Because of its unique size and impressiveflower head, the plant was originally introduced to Great Britain as an ornamentalcuriosity in the 19th century. The plant is named after the mythological god, Hercules (he of robust size and strength). It was later transported to the United States and Canada as a showpiece in arboreta and Victorian gardens (one of theplant’s first North American plantings of giant hogweed was in gardens nearHighland Park in the City of Rochester, New York). It was also a favorite ofbeekeepers because of the size its flower heads (the amount of food for bees issubstantial). A powder made from the dried seeds is also used as a spice in Iranian cooking. Unfortunately, as with so many invasive plants, giant hogweed escaped cultivation and has now become naturalized in a number of areas; New York; Connecticut; the District of Columbia; Illinois; Maine; Maryland; Massachusetts; Michigan; Ohio; Oregon; Pennsylvania;Virginia Washington; Wisconsin; and now North Carolina. The Canadian Provinces of British Columbia, New Brunswick, Ontario and Quebec.


Happy Friday Everyone.
Thanks to those who have visited and given stars, hearts & comments to my blips this past week while I've been "absent"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.