The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Best in Show

First prize for a plate of soft fruits went to the redcurrants. The marquee was crowded and I didn't get any good shots, so I've applied some artistic licence.

This was, of course, at Stroud's country show. It has been going since Victorian times, but this year it was a shadow of its former self. The outgoing committee resigned last year, and five new people took it on, but they couldn't bring in the livestock, apart from three Cotswold sheep. The stalls were mainly selling tat for charity. There was, however, a display of prize-winning produce and handicrafts, and a bar tent, so all was not lost.

Steve dropped me off back at town, where I returned to the farmers' market to buy chilli and truffle-flavoured oils for my friend Dave. That was more lively! Checked out the new Mountain Warehouse store, where Millet's used to be, and returned to the house sit. Later I took a circular walk around the 'hood, because I used to live in this valley twenty years ago, but many new houses have been built since then. My former house, that I rented, has just been sold.

I've just been attempting to take a nap on the sofa, but it's not long enough to lie on! I shall have to water the garden again tonight. None of us know when it will rain again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.