The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Merrywalks under renovation

Remarkably for a 1970s in-town shopping centre, the Merrywalks centre has found a new owner that is ready to invest in an upgrade. It's been undergoing a transformation for almost a year now. The scaffolding has gone from the outside. Now many of the shops have closed, and a sort of wooden corridor has been built inside. If you didn't know there was a Wilko's or a Home Bargains in there, you might never find it.

I'll report back in a year or so with more images. I don't feel passionately enough about the Merrywalks to record every little change. I prefer actual streets, and the nicest feature of the Merrywalks, an ornate spiral staircase to the roof level, vanished years ago.

This was blipped on my way back from a cat feeding session. It was very stupid of me to have agreed to a cat sit on the other side of town, but I didn't know at the time about Steve's hip op, and trying to get out of it later didn't work either. Thank goodness I got out of watering the hose-freev terraced garden!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.