The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The unfinished picture

We got up early to go the tip. We'd booked the trip weeks ago, as is compulsory, and arrived early, at the start of a cloudless day. As soon as the cars were let in, the frenzy of tipping garden waste began. It seems we were not the only ones with twenty sacks of clippings. All over in twenty minutes, though, thanks to the frenetic pace.

Back home over the top of Minchinhampton Common, to make a lightning change into party clothes for school! Last day of term. What a term... I've been in four times altogether, I have not seen any nursery children bar two, and mostly we've just been cleaning.

Three of us went down to the woods to see what type of forest school environment had been created. We moved some recently felled logs, so heavy that we had to upend them and try to make them fall straight: caber tossing for wimps! We created a campfire circle and a splendid brushwood den. The majority of children we will have in September will have more complex health needs than we are used to, but we are trying to create an accessible outdoor environment for all. Unfortunately we spooked a deer, which ran around in a panic and eventually got its head and body through the railings of the fence onto the main road, but its rear end was stuck. It thrashed around and screamed and screamed, a most blood curdling sound. We beat a retreat because it was frightened, but the people on the other side of the fence said they'd call the RSPCA. I don't know whether they did: we just carried on trying to work and ignore the screaming (though I think I'll be hearing it forever). Eventually something positive happened and the deer came galloping back, freed, and disappeared into the furthest recesses. Thank goodness. Around six years ago there were apparently twelve deer living in the school grounds, but the woodland area has been greatly thinned since then. Still, you don't often hear of deer living next to Tesco's...

We returned to main school for a barbecue on the lawn, them nite nursery tidying, and another Zoom for me. Afterwards I sat outside with a jigsaw. I thought I'd feel relaxed now that school is officially out, but instead I felt sad that I'd only had six months with my key child, and that the nursery leavers have now left, and will start school, and we've had no marquee, no party, no slide shows. Coronavirus has torn us apart, to paraphrase Joy Division.

This feeling will pass, I know. Right now, I'm just sitting with it. Dave seems to have had an OK first full day at home, despite having developed a new obsession with disposable hospital underwear. I'm going to give him and the Red Cross lady who is helping him a few days to sort out his new routine and his underwear, then go over for a visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.