The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Mortimer gardens from the bus station, Nailsworth

CS gave me a lift up to GG's this morning. She lives in the sticks. I found her frustrated by not being able to open packets, dress herself or control the fan in her bedroom, which had crashed over in the night and got entangled in a shag pile rug. It was making furry sounds of fury. Ants were also having a party on her kitchen surfaces.

I sorted out the ants with some permethrin powder that the gardener had left, because, wait for it, she also has a wasps' nest in the eaves. Ordered her a face potion from Amazon, found lunch, gave her an old travel magazine. When I came back to the bedroom, GG was looking excited, saying "do you know you can fly to the Falkland Islands from RAF Brize Norton?'
"Great!" says I, " it's on the Green list for travel. Let's go!"

After a few more errands including helping G get dressed and sorting out her sling (it's probably now inside out and upside down), I headed off down Giddynap Lane again to the A46. Realised that hey, since I'm on school holiday, I could go to Nailsworth instead of Stroud.

Nailsworth is a pretty little market town without the grittiness of Stroud. I decided to scour the charity shops for tent-like dresses (it's still hot) but was shocked by the prices. Emmaus in Stroud sells furniture and is pretty much the original stinky 'n' manky type of charity shop, whereas the Nailsworth one has turned into a boutique. The same experience was repeated in other shops. Finally I did some shopping in Morrisons and wandered back to the bus station, which is is pretty in summer (see above). Caught bus to Forest Green (known as 'up top', home to Forest Green Rovers football team), back through Nailsworth to Stroud, and jumped onto another bus towards my part of Stroud. Hardly anyone was wearing a mask on the latter bus.

And now it's 19.58 on and still FAR too hot. Apparently I'm cooking paella for tea. Another of my great ideas that only makes me wish I had a glamorous assistant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.