Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Why I love Newcastle so much

Today there was a lovely Blipmeet organised by davidc.

(See one of my extras for the line up)

We met at The Sage, Gateshead. After coffee and lots of chat, we walked towards the Baltic, via the live stage for the Americana weekend. I left the rest to go to see the Baltic exhibitions, because I had been very recently, and I walked over the Millennium Bridge to Newcastle to see the photographic exhibition in The Side Gallery. It is excellent as I expected. Do go.

On my way I saw this man with his extraordinary bike. A couple of women stopped to ask him about it. It is a beach bike, but he had pumped the tyres up to allow him to cycle on the tarmac. The bike cost £1000. I played paparazzi, but they knew. One of the women asked to ride it and off she went, up and down the quayside. "I might has lost me bike", he said!

When I returned to the Gateshead side, I joined the others for lunch. They decided to go for a walk on one of the Great Exhibition of the North trails, but I decided to come home.

My extras show the blippers trying to do funny faces for Silly Saturday and not all succeeding!  They are standing around one of several similar sculptures outside the Baltic. There is a tiny sign to say you much not climb on these. The children enjoying them must have been illiterate. What a silly thing to suggest.

The other extra was a lovely woman who was having her hair done for the Americana festival. 

What a delightful day.

PS Forgot to say -  I met Julie on the Millennium Bridge and Henry and Christine in The Sage.


Blippers were: shygirlriversiderdollydoug60plus and davidc

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.