Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

Chiaroscuro

The use of of light and shadow in painting (Rembrandt was a master in this).

This is my son by my daughter from a photograph taken 6 months after their Dad died. My daughter took photos of her brother, his daughter, herself and me. We had all fallen to pieces at the time and it is painful to look at her paintings. The painting of me is just so sad and despairing but so true that I can’t look at it.

This is an exact liking of my son - this is his image at the time.

My daughter is a vet (now earning at last) and has no formal training in art. She is a true artist in my opinion.

Yesterday she said to me ‘Mum I am thinking of moving to London to work as a vet and to engage with the thriving art scene there. Mum London is the place for an artist’.

What could a mum say!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.