Paladian

By Paladian

Common Grass-Blue

I took a leaf out of Vodkaman's book today, and went blipping early (not as early as him, but certainly early for me)

This is a tiny butterfly, the common grass-blue (Zizina labradus). And this isn't the best image, because the light refracting off the wings doesn't make it look too blue, but this was the best I got. It was just opening its wings to catch the sun, and the blankety blank cat walked up to see what I was doing, and off it went. (So did Rani, with a very smart smack on the bottom).

Because it's so small and its greyish colour blends it extremely well into the surroundings, unless you actually see it land somewhere you have a snowball's chance in hell of finding it.

So this is the best image for today, and now I know I have it in the garden, (on the lavender bush - where else), I'll watch out for it, and try and get a better shot.

Just a tad bluer in large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.