The Monarch

Yippity yip yip. I got a Monarch.

The first Monarch of the season, and I do always forget just how beautiful they are. I would say this one hasn't been hatched all that long - it's in perfect condition.

Monday is diet day, Tuesday is shopping and sushi day (and a small pot of delicious fruit Greek yoghurt day). Then we go on a mini-safari, generally up Brownhill Creek to see what we can see.

Today was utterly spoilt by those pesky little bush flies - has anyone else noticed how many flies there are around this season? Anything from hovers to house, they are everywhere. Must be something to do with the weather.

Where was I? Oh yes, but we did stay long enough for me to get this Monarch (Danaus plexippus).

A friend has promised me some milk weed or cotton bush seeds when the time is right. Then I might have my own little crop of Monarchs. That would be brilliant.

Talking about the weather - so far this month our temperature is about 9 degrees BELOW average. Especially at night.

My knitting is coming along wonderfully well - usually by now I have packed up the needles for the summer. I'm on a bit of a mission to knit up my stash. It should keep me going for about the next 15 years, but I have sworn a terrible oath not to buy more wool.

You know what? This is definitely better in large.

I do prattle on, don't I!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.