Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

How to...

...make a perfect cup of coffee using Terri's Double Drip Method.

This is the latest I've gone blipless without a clue what I would photograph. Blip panic begins to set in, and it's dark, the light is no good, I hate using flash. Ah well, they don't all have to be perfect now, do they?

Last week I said I might reveal my obsession with coffee making. I told you about my cup requirements, but what goes into the cup (or rather, mug) is even more critical. So - take notes.

1. I buy the freshest beans possible; they must be organic, shade grown and free trade. I've been buying the same beans for several years from Cafe Mam. As you can imagine, coffee roasters are as plentiful as brew pubs in Oregon (we do like our beverages), but when I find something I like, I stick with it.

2. Grind enough beans for no more than two or three days, and store beans and ground coffee in airtight containers. Freeze beans that won't be used for two weeks or more.

3. Put two heaping scoops of ground coffee into a single-cup filter (a scoop equals 2 tablespoons). Drip just-boiling water over the coffee into a carafe (or a quart jar will suffice).

4. Drip the coffee again through a clean filter into a clean mug. This is important! The second filtering removes any grounds that snuck into the carafe and makes a very clean cup of coffee - no sludge on the bottom, so every drop is drinkable! And you'll be surprised how much better it tastes.

As with most brilliant inventions, I discovered this method accidentally when a filter broke and let some grounds into the coffee; I filtered it again and realized how much better it tasted double-dripped and voila or eureka or whatever mad scientists say when they've discovered an important contribution to humankind!

Now if you'll excuse me, my coffee has reached a critical temperature and must be consumed before it's too late! Bottoms up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.