Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Eight years, but who is counting?!

I can't believe that I'm been involved with Blipfoto for 8 years. (It's actually a bit longer, but I made myself have a few days off, quite early on, to prove I wasn't addicted!! That didn't work...….)

So, today I packed my camera and a couple of lenses before we set off for a trip to the National Glass Centre in Sunderland. I was sure to find a good blip for my eighth birthday.

Who forgot the cards for the camera?


I hang my head in shame.

We saw John Kippin's Based on a True Story in the new Gallery of Contemporary Art. There are 33 monumental prints - enormous and very detailed. Mum was in the wheelchair and we were able to spend time looking at each one and discussing it.

Lunch was in a hothouse of a restaurant at the Glass Centre. We were going to 'phone Michael (recent widow of my cousin Margaret) but there he was, walking past. That was lovely. He came in for a chat and told us about all that is happening for him at the moment. The grandchildren keep him well occupied.

Then we saw an exhibition called Young Glass. This has been created by a series of young glass makers and is superb. There were a few pieces that did not move me, but, in the main, this is modern art at its best, with excellent craftsmanship. Do go to see it.

My blip is a single image taken with my iPhone. I hope you are intrigued and have to look hard at it. The pots are glass inkwells made by a British artist at a Swedish glass works. The photograph is of all the factory workers in the 1960s. I was pleased to see the 8!

I hardly know where to begin with what I feel about the community of Blipfoto. It is such a very special place where I know I am valued and cared for, where I have made friends and where people encourage me on. Thank you all. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.