Old Boots

J bought himself some new boots a while ago as these, his old ones, were literally falling apart; they have done a few miles! - but I didn't let him throw them away as I had a plan.  I just had to find the right doorstep or similar to set them against  as I though that would make a good image. 

Several years ago a farmer friend in the village died and his farm was full of old things - he never threw anything away. The barns were cleared out for a farm sale and now, there are just the house and barns - overgrown and very dilapidated.  (the reasons behind this are too complicated for a blip)
Today, I took Pepper for her walk and decided to go via the farm as I thought I would find a suitable setting for the boots; and this evening I went back with camera, boots and a flash.  I posed the boots together in various positions, and I will probably return and try a few other places, as well as recording the derelict state of the property. Strictly speaking, I was trespassing but no one bothers and I know the people who live around there anyway.  The evening light was very golden but a bit of fill flash was needed too.  It was fun and good practice for positioning a speed light.

Maybe the boots would look good planted with geraniums when their days of modelling are over?!

More Boot Blips from the past here and here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.