A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Border Abbeys

We've had a glorious day. Great weather, scenery and places visited.
One mystery from yesterday's 'Confused' blip is resolved as the fell behind the village where we are staying is called Kirkhope, hence the name of the Parish Hall et al.

We travelled down the Ettrick Valley following Ettrick Water and then the Teviot to Selkirk. From there we were following the River Tweed to Kelso. Lovely valleys and hills, some with just a hint of purple coming and very quiet roads.

Our aim today was to follow the Border Abbeys route. The suggested starting point was Kelso as the Abbey there is the least complete. It was probably the most magnificent originally but was involved in very many Border assaults and skirmishes. The town itself was lovely and we had a walk around the very attractive independent shops to find a coffee. I also found some bargain walking shoes! Half price Merrell Gortex, what can you do!

We moved on to Jedburgh, following Jed Water, where I took this shot. I liked the Abbey here, most of the church was intact. We had to climb silly spiral stairs to get this shot but at least it was one way. I loved the shadows and like Kelso and Melrose it is right in the middle of town.

The next stop was Dryborough. I loved this as it is in a delightful and calm woodland garden away from any towns. Most of the church is no longer there but a lot of the ancillary buildings are. Sir Walter Scott and Douglas Haigh are buried here.

We then headed to Melrose via Scotts view. A lovely view over the Eilden Hills and a loop in the River Tweed.

We were disappointed not to find tea rooms at the two NT gardens but we found a cafe nearby for tea and cake before looking around our last Abbey at Melrose. Most complete but not my favourite, I'm not sure why but I did like the boss of a bagpipe playing pig!

Back along the Yarrow Valley, Yarrow Water, and then over Kirkhope back to Ettrickbridge. The were Paragliders out on/above the fell.

Sitting outside with a drink now enjoying the evening sun whilst I post this. My Border friend is right, this is a lovely area. Moving to the English side tomorrow.

(I was using my wide angle lens today though portrait isn't really ideal but the subject is certainly old!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.