Cock And Hen Linnet

My daughter and grandaughter collected me and we went to Nando's in the town centre. I enjoyed my supergrain salad with chicken. From there to the cinema. The last time I went to the cinema was to see Mamma Mia in 2008, it made me squirm but I enjoyed it as I was with my daughter and granddaughter. We were hoping for a reprise this evening. Mamma Mia, Here We Go Again was fully booked. We were so disappointed. :(

My image is of a male and female linnet on an oak sapling. It's looking the worse for wear owing to the drought. The birds weren't singing but calling captvatingly but plaintively in turn. John Clare and Wordsworth wrote linnet poems but theirs referred to the green linnet, another name for a greenfinch. 

Philip M Raskin has got the measure of the linnet in his poem:

Have you heard the linnet trilling,
     To discover did you try
What is hidden in her carol—
     Does she sing or does she cry?

I am singing like the linnet,
     When my heart does pine and long;
Love, and pain, and joy, and sorrow,
     All are hidden in my song.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.