Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

 This is a blog post from Eddie Soloway, a photographer who I learned about from Kim Manley Ort.  If you are unfamiliar with his work, take a look at his website.  He has the most amazing photos and his words are simple and worth reading.

"Years ago a professor drew a small black dot on a big whiteboard. “What do you see?” he asked. “A black dot,” everyone responded.“But most of this board is the white space. Did you see it, too?”


"Often I am reminded that we know just a touch of what there is to know, and that we often see a narrow view. We get so focused on one idea, one point of view, a shiny object, that all we see is the black dot."


Pondering on this idea, not only as it applies to what I see with my photographer's eye but how I look at and think about what is happening in the life around me and the world I live in.  I know this for sure..people need to look beyond that black dot. 

An abstract of the pavement with a tiny little crape myrtle bloom.  Do you see the pink or do you look at the pavement too?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.