Hazy days

I opened the van window this morning to see an ambulance go by - unusual for a tiny place.

My ride began with a hill two miles in and I was only just about warmed up for it - a helicopter took my mind off the ascent for a while.  

Once over the top, it was pleasant and quiet cycling until a road block with a police van across the road.  Thankfully, the driver in the collision was OK but was whisked off in a helicopter because he had chest pains that were probably (hopefully) from the seat belt.  I had a lovely chat with the policemen despite one not letting me through after telling me I'd probably be fine as they were just clearing up (it did flash through my mind what they'd do if I started pedalling!)  Anyway, it was warm so I wasn't worried.  We chatted about the heatwave but one of them said it was the football that would have had more negative impact on the police than the temperatures.  He did then give me a slight head start on the traffic behind!

I had a thoroughly enjoyable outing from Great Busby down to Hawnby. It was then onwards and downwards to Osmotherley where I'd planned a cafe stop which turned out to be delightful. 

Hotting up, my homeward route took me on flatter ground through pretty villages and towns.  At one point, a police van passed me.  I wondered how many police vans there were around the North Yorkshire Moors so when it pulled in and turned round to a halt, I smiled to spot the same policemen waving at me as I went by.

Glad I didn't sneak through!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.