RMB Baby

This morning I journeyed over to a local hospital to meet a fellow 'Remember my Baby' volunteer.  Sally is an experienced volunteer and I was able to 'shadow' her as it's my first experience of this type of event.  The baby boy was born yesterday and lived for three hours before passing peacefully.  The parents were lovely and so appreciative - it was humbling in the face of such tragedy; they  said it had helped by being able to spend the night with their son, even though he had passed. Anyway, I was able to deal with everything, although it can be more difficult at times when the parents or relatives are very emotional.

There is another charity that provides boxes of items for babies - I don't know whether that's for all babies or not; this teddy bear was in the box and we placed it in the crib to be more 'normal'.  I think this is safe to blip. 

I am doing this partly in gratitude for healthy children of my own and healthy grandchildren; not everyone is as fortunate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.