Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Yellow loosestrife - #FF27_2018

..Lysimachia thyrsiflora

Yes, I thought it was time to get back to the wildflowers and remind you that WFW07 will close after tomorrow and then we'll move on to WFW08.  So do get your entries in if you can.

And as I keep saying what quantities of purple loosestrife we have growing in the water meadows and down by the river, I felt it was time to show you the other plant we have so much of.  Yellow loosestrife is everywhere in the wetlands, growing in and out of the reeds.  And - I was astonished to see when I looked it up - it is no relation to purple loosestrife at all.  Purple loosestrife is part of the loosestrife family, yellow loosestrife is part of the primrose family.  ;-/

I took this blip on the way back from another early walk.  I thought it would be cool at that time, but it wasn't noticeably, though the sun was only partly out. 

Apart from that, later in the morning I took the OG to a coffee morning and this afternoon I waited in for an engineer to fit another smart meter-  who came - plus a builder to give me a quote for making good the water damage, who didn't.

Thanks so much to BikerBear for hosting FlowerFriday.  And have a great start to the weekend.  xx

A list of my blipped 2018 wildflowers to date:

JANUARY
Snowdrops
FEBRUARY
Gorse (or furze);  Wild daffodils
MARCH
Coltsfoot;  Primroses;  Blackthorn
APRIL
Greater periwinkle;  Goat willow;  Ground ivy;  Cowslips;  Daisy;
Common field speedwell;  Wood anemone;  Greater celandine
MAY
Cuckoo flower (or lady’s smock);  Yellow archangel;  Common dog violet;
Crab apple;  Bluebell;  Red clover;  Germander speedwell;
Three-cornered leek;  Hawthorn;  Yellow flag; Dandelion;  Common vetch; Dog rose;  Green alkanet;
JUNE
Bramble;  Stinking iris;  Dropwort;  Meadow buttercup; Sweet briar;  Red campion;  Butterfly orchid;  Poppies;  Nettle;  Birdsfoot trefoil;  Meadow cranesbill;  Sainfoin; 
JULY
Musk mallow;  Field Scabious; Ragwort;  Rosebay willowherb; purple loosestrife; teasel;  meadowsweet; yellowloosestrife

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.