Pompei and Vesuvius

We bought the Pompei tickets yesterday and so that's what was on today's agenda.  The heat could probably be compared to only a tenth or less of the heat when Vesuvius erupted in 79 AD, but it was at times punishing.  You can say that it gave us a slight idea of what it must have been like.  We began with a steep incline to the site itself, then a discouraging 'drag' around the ruins.  We really had to motivate ourselves to do this.  Nan forgot about trying to look good in selfies as she focused on looking for the next bit of shade every time.  We only reminded ourselves of the impact of that event and focused on the interesting things -- mosaics and tiles that were undamaged, pillars and statues, and, so poignant, the human remains encased in hardened ash.  I especially liked the way the archaeologists numbered the streets using Roman numerals -- now that was a challenging review!

We returned on time to the bus stop to catch the trip to Vesuvius, where a rather crucifying climb up its slope awaited us.  Climbing up a volcano slope in 37 degrees?  It took me 45 minutes to reach the top, and that was because I had to stop rather often to rest my legs, during which I did my best to shoot some of the views.  Because of the heat, the glare was horrific and I did my best to reduce that in post-processing.  Finally, at the top, a good view of the crater, but there was no more time to walk all the way to the last outpost.  In the end, it was not important as the crater was more than enough.  Can finally say I've seen the top of Vesuvius!  That makes three volcanoes we've been on together -- Taal and Pinatubo in The Philippines, Vesuvius in Italy.  I think I've also seen the top of our famous Mayon, also in The Philippines, but that was when I was about 5 or 6 years old.  Mayon is always a challenge because there are always clouds, but then again I wouldn't want to climb Mayon in 37 degrees.  There are two extras.

We capped the day with the dinner at our 'favourite' restaurant (their menus have English translations) and then back to our B&B.  I actually had other ideas about day trips from Napels -- like Sorrento and Capri and the Amalfi coast, but they can wait till another time.  Yea, right -- 'Vesuvius.  Just do it.'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.