Pickled!

At lunchtime today I went in search of pickling spice to pickle my shallots. After finding a packet in Holland and Barrett I went to Lakeland to buy a kilner jar. I haven’t got that many onions!

Work was quite good. My head has been quite a bit better than yesterday and I managed to get on with some work. Mollie met a friend after work which gave me a bit of extra time too. Then we went to B & Q to look at floor tiles for our little cloakroom. Why are tiles all giant these days? It must be a new fashion. It isn’t what we really want so we will go looking at the weekend for small ones.

On the way back from Norwich I dropped in to Tesco in Aylsham to buy the vinegar for my pickling challenge. I’d planned to buy malt but they only had ready spiced pickling vinegar, so that’s what I got. I may still add more spices.

Jon had been in Cambridge today and then was off out to a meeting as I walked in. I seem to have been peeling onions ever since. It was a handy excuse while watching Long Lost Family - I could blame the tears on the onions.

Must get to bed now!

P.s. the scales were my nan’s. I guess they would be about 90 years old now. And I have a lovely mishmash of weights :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.