Collectible Novelty Soap

I saw these in my favourite charity shop at lunchtime today and they reminded me of my cousin Louise when she was a little girl. I am sure if my memory serves me correctly, she had a collection of novelty soaps. I had a small collection of soaps too (they used to be mostly soap on a rope back then). I particularly remember I had a lilac scented soap shaped like an old fashioned ladies shoe. I am sure I gave Louise my small collection to add to hers (but now thinking about that concept of giving a collection away, it doesn't seem quite me!!) Anyway, I think I did....but it was probably 40 years ago. I may not be remembering correctly.

After work - locking up at 5.30, I met old CCC pensions friends Claire and James who are holidaying in Norfolk this week. We had a drink in Revolution where Jon joined us. Then we went on to a pub for something to eat. It was very nice until about 8pm when they set up a microphone and some old people started singing and playing the guitar. We left and I took my friends the scenic route, via Elm Hill back to a quieter pub. Another drink and more catching up, before we went our separate ways.

As you can guess by the soap photo, I forgot to take one of my friends! Oh well, next time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.