Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

A Little Bit Of Paradise

It was a lovely day.  No threat of rain at all.  It was so nice to get out for three hours while the caregiver was here and not be running off to appointments.  These three hours were for me.  I went out to lunch.  Then I sat in my car for a good long while setting up appointments for the things I have been putting off: getting an estimate to paint the inside of my house (been putting that off since the winter kitchen remodel), setting up my termite inspection and stuff like that.  

I went into Beall's and picked out a pair of capri and a top for mom.  She has nothing that fits her anymore.  I struggled with selecting sizes.  I did okay with the top but not the pants.  At least I know what sizes to look for now.  A friend is going to go with me to help select a new wardrobe for her.

When I got home we spent some time watching the birds.  It's pretty quiet out there between 9:30 am and 5 pm because of the heat but around that time in the evening it is pretty active.  I prepared a nice dinner: roasted chicken, mashed potatoes and corn on the cob. 

Earlier in the day DIRECTV came and set up a second television.  I put it in "my" bedroom but it will be really easy to move when I need to put it in the other room because the boxes are now wireless.  The satellite is off of Mom's house so there's no watching anything there.  That should help with grasping the permanence.

The blip is a photo of a White-winged dove strutting in front of a Red Bird of Paradise bush.  It began growing spontaneously on the other side of my wall last summer.  They are really beautiful.  This dove does not reside here year-round; it's a migrator.  In the summer it's the largest of my backyard visitors.

On a last unrelated note, my friend Alma (who used to blip) sent me a fuzzy photo of a wee bobcat outside of her door,  Then she saw two, then a third, nursing right there.  She said the mama is very thin.  She'll have to use alternate methods of entering and exiting her house for a while!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.